SOUTHBROOM PROPERTY OWNERS ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELAD ON 3RD OCTOBER 202 AT THE SOUTHBROOM GOLF CLUB

1. WELCOME

Eric Annegarn took the chair and welcomed all ratepayers and residents to this the 18th Annual General Meeting of the Southbroom Property Owners Association. We welcome RNM Ward 2 Councillor Alan Bosch, and thank him for his assistance and support.

2. NOTICE :

The notice of the AGM of the Southbroom Property Owners Association was advertised in the Southbroom newsletter on 17 September, a reminder was sent over the weekend, posters have been displayed through Southbroom and an advert appeared in the South Coast Herald early in September 2022. The notice was taken as being properly distributed – Proposed Jurie Snyman – Bruce Burt

- 3. **ATTENDANCE:** As per attendance register of the SRA AGM. As there is a quorum (more than 30 properties represented 2.5% of registered ratepayers), EA declared the meeting duly constituted and open.
- 4. APOLOGIES: There were no further apologies from the previous meeting.
- APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF AGM 29TH JANUARY 2022: The minutes of the AGM on 29 January 2022 have been circulated and taken as read : Proposed Jurie Snyman – second Allan Woods
- 6. **APPOINTMENT OF THE BOARD MEMBERS**: The board currently comprises the following ex-officio members:

Brian Dick, Bennie Kruger, Johan Labuschagne, Anne Skelton, John Pole, and Eric Annegarn; Geoff Evans and Bruce Burt are nominated members and have indicated that they will continue to make themselves available. Jurie Snyman is co-opted to the board.

Jackie Pratt is no longer available to act as secretary and this position is currently vacant. EA hoped that an enthusiastic volunteer will make him or herself available soon.

EA asked for questions, objections, or further nominations from the floor. There were no objections or nominations and the board was voted in unanimously. Proposed Richard Bridgeford, second Jackie Pratt.

7. AUDITED ANNUAL FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AS AT 30 JUNE 2021

A summary of the audited annual financial statements had been circulated. Geoff Evans gave a clear explanation of AFS pointing out that there had been an incident of cyber fraud at the beginning of the year. As it is very difficult to trace and recover funds from a cyber fraud, it had been agreed by the board to increase the cyber insurance. There were no questions from the floor and the AFS were approved; proposed Bennie Kruger, second Joy Crutchfield.

- 8. **BUDGET**: Geoff Evans reported on the budget for the years 2023/2024 which has to be approved at this meeting for the coming year. There were no questions or objections and the budget was approved for submission to the municipality; proposed Joy Crutchfield second Richard Derman.
- 9. **AUDITOR:** EA request a proposer and seconder for the reappointment of the auditor, Chantel Elliot & Company who have done an excellent job. Proposed Walter Robinson, second Richard Bridgeford
- 10. **LEVY INCREASE**: EA called for a proposer and seconder that the RNM increase the UIP levy in line with the municipal rates increase for the year ending 30 June 2024, but that such increase does not exceed 10%. Agreed proposed Bruce Burt, second Allan Woods.
- 11. **CHAIRMAN'S REPORT:** EA gave a report in which he emphasised that the reorganisation of the board at the beginning of the year was working well and efficiently. Full report attached to these minutes.
- 12. **GENERAL:** As there we no questions and no further business, EA thanked everyone for their interest and patience the meeting closed at 10h55.

EA handed over to Bennie Kruger to chair the AGM of the community Policing Forum.